T20 World Cup 2021 fixtures: England match dates, start times and full TV schedule

Carlos Brathwaite, right, wins the 2016 T20 World Cup for West Indies in Kolkata

Credit: AP Photo/Saurabh Das

What is it?

It’s the seventh staging of what used to be called the ICC World T20 but is now known as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. West Indies, the holders, have won two of the past three; India, Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka have won one each. 

Where is it taking place?

It was originally scheduled to be held in October 2020 in Australia but was postponed midway through last year because of the Covid-19 global pandemic. Instead, having reverted to biennial tournaments after imposing a quadrennial timetable since 2016, the ICC brought forward the 2022 tournament a year and gave Australia the 2022 edition. This staging was originally due to be held in India but has, like the latter stages of the 2021 IPL, been switched to the United Arab Emirates. Matches will be held in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai with the final on November 14 at Dubai’s International Stadium.

What is the format?

Two-tiered: eight teams have qualified automatically for the ‘Super 12 stage’ by virtue of their ICC ranking in December 2018 – (de jure if not de facto) hosts India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, England, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and South Africa. 

Eight further teams – in Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Namibia and Netherlands; in Group B: Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland – begin a round robin elimination process to decide the four to join the Super 12 stage. They have been split into two groups of four and over six days, from October 17-22, will each play the other three sides in their sections. The top two from each group will then join the other eight teams in two groups of six as follows:

What is the Super 12? 

For the main course the teams have been divided into two groups, now termed Group 1 and Group 2 (A and B having already been used) as follows:

ICC 2021 T20 World Cup Group 1

Each team will play the other five in the group and the winners and runners-up will go through to the semi-final knockout stage.

What time will the matches take place?

Because the tournament straddles the day when the clocks revert to GMT in the UK on Sunday, October 31, day matches preceding that point will start at 11am and day-night games at 3pm BST; from Oct 31 onwards they will begin at 10am and 2pm respectively. 

When are England’s group matches? 

October 23, 3pm: England vs West Indies, Dubai
October 27, 11am: England v B runner-up, Abu Dhabi
October 30, 3pm: England v Australia, Dubai
November 1, 2pm: England v A winner, Sharjah
November 6, 2pm: England v South Africa, Sharjah.

When are the knock-out rounds?

November 10, 2pm: Semi-final 1 – Winner of S12 Gp 1 v Runner-up S12 Gp B, Abu Dhabi   
November 11, 2pm: Semi-final 2 – Winner of S12 Gp B v Runner-up S12 Gp A, Dubai

November 14, 2pm: Final, Dubai.    

Who is in England’s squad? 

England ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Squad

How can I watch it? 

All matches will be shown live on Sky Sports Cricket and will be covered on the radio by the BBC’s Test Match Special team on 5 Live Sports Extra with some matches on Radio 4 LW.  

What is the full schedule?

2021 Men’s T20 World Cup first round

2021 T20 World Cup Super 12s Group 1 fixtures

2021 T20 World Cup Super 12s Group 2 fixtures

2021 T20 World Cup Super 12s knockout stage

Who are the pre-tournament favourites?

India 5/2

England 7/2

Australia 6/1

West Indies 6/1

New Zealand 7/1

Pakistan 10/1

South Africa 12/1

Bangladesh 40/1

Sri Lanka 50/1

Afghanistan 66/1

Ireland 500/1

Scotland 1000/1

Netherlands 1000/1

Oman 1000/1

Namibia 1000/1

Papua New Guinea 2000/1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *